The PASA Procurement Excellence Awards 2022

The PASA Procurement Excellence Awards 2022 were rebranded as THE NIGELS in memory of the founder of PASA, Nigel Wardropper, who died suddenly just prior to the 8th PASA PremierConFEX event in October 2020, which was subsequently held ONLINE due to the pandemic, as it was in 2021.

This year, the 10th annual PASA Premier ConFEX 2022 will host THE NIGELS LIVE for the first time, and the full vision of how THE NIGELS operate can be experienced again.

There are only three prestigious awards to be presented, and the shortlisted entrants in each category get to present their 10 minute CASE STUDY submissions live to the audience – who get to VOTE for the winner in each category on the conference APP.

This year two awards are sponsored by global consulting and procurement software firm GEP, and the third, most prestigious award, The most Improved Procurement Team 2022, will be presented  solely in PASA’s name by Mrs Lesley Wardropper, Nigel’s wife, and the owner of PASA.

The PASA Award categories for 2022:

The Procurement Supply Chain Resilience Award 2022
– sponsored by GEP*


The Procurement Procurement Data Intelligence Award  2022
– sponsored by GEP*

The Most Improved Procurement Team 2022


The founder of PASA, Nigel Wardropper, always took a personal hand in the PASA awards process, the presentations and the shortlisting. He cared that procurement as a subject constantly moved forward – that it was innovative, practical and, most of all, achieved real results.

These principles have been enshrined into the PASA Awards process for the future as a memorial to Nigel who passed away in October 2020.

Winning a PASA Award – a “Nigel”

Winning a PASA Award is a prestigious recognition of procurement excellence. Not only are the winners judged against their peers’ efforts in competition, but also against a minimum standard for excellence defined by our esteemed judging panel of procurement experts. Winners must pass a standard of excellence, we believe.

Three entries will be shortlisted for each Award (please click on the title of the award to download the nomination form):

The Procurement Supply Chain Resilience Award 2022

Recognition for outstanding or improved supply chain resilience… the de-risking of the supply chain so that the business recognises the reduced impact of supply chain disruptions and greater values supply assurance. Your submission should not just be about holding more stock, but improving resilience for the supply lines that sustain your business in measurable ways

The Procurement Procurement Data Intelligence Award 2022

Recognition for good use of data and management information worked into procurement intelligence that genuinely guides your business to better outcomes … through the direct conversion of eProcurement data into information and information into knowledge to make better decisions. This might be category strategies informed by spend analyses or supply chain intel or risk reports or commodity price changes. Your submission could best show how, during the pandemic, or afterwards, your team synthesised various sources of data and made a better business decision as a result of more than one information source from the supply-side.

The Most Improved Procurement Team Award 2022

Recognition for the greatest improvement in procurement team capability – through either people, process, technology, strategic, organisational or cultural improvement, either before, during or after the pandemic. Or, from just good leadership. Your submission is not for the best procurement team – but the most improved; considering the base point and current achievement of the team. This award is a continual award, presented each year solely by PASA and reflects Nigel’s strong view that relative improvement is a greater prize that size or inherited corporate capability.

Each SHORTLISTED entry will be invited to present a short 10-minute CASE STUDY presentation at the Premier ConfeX covering the key attributes of their entry and encapsulating why they think their entry might win a ‘Nigel’

All shortlisted entries will receive a memento certificate of SHORTLISTING and a copy of the photographs from the occasion.

It is possible judges might also cite some “HONORABLE MENTIONS” from entries that were not shortlisted.

The three actual PASA award winners receive an engraved trophy to take home. Most winners enter their win on their LinkedIN profile and on their resume.

It is likely that PASA will invite winners and/or shortlisted entries to re-present their case study at future PASA events. In this respect, the material presented must be available to the public domain and appropriate for general public consumption please.

The PASA Awards process

Entries must be received ONLINE by close of business AEST on Friday 16th September 2022. The unique e-mail address thenigels@pasa.net.au should be used for all entries. In the subject line of your email, please enter “your organisation name 2022 PASA Awards Submission”

Entries should be accompanied by:

    1. A completed PASA NOMINATION FORM (see below)

    2. The official ENTRY FEE of $45 which must be paid by 17TH September by card or invoice to qualify your entry. All entry money will be donated by PASA to the Australian HEART FOUNDATION in memory of Nigel Wardropper

    3. Any accompanying documentation or evidence of your success/results you may wish to provide

    The judging process will take place by PASA and our appointed pro-bono expert judges by around 1st October.  Those entries not shortlisted will receive notification by Friday 7th October 2022.

    Shortlisted entries will be notified as quickly as possible after 1st October 2022. Each shortlisted entry will be invited to present at the annual PASA Premier ConfeX and allocated their slot in the main plenary session on 12/13th October – LIVE @ Flemington Racecourse Conference Centre in Melbourne. Entrants are responsible for their own travel costs, but receive free tickets to attend the entire event.

    The NOMINATION forms

    Each PASA Award has its own nomination form. You need to complete a form for each Award you enter.

    Please click on the relevant form above to download your nomination form

    Alternatively, please email lesley@pasa.net.au to request a nomination form or for any queries.


    The Judging Panel

    The judging panel for 2022 is:

    Jonathan Dutton FCIPS

    PASA CEO (Chair)

    Andrea Gregory

    Head of Procurement at Frucor Suntory in NZ

    Keith Bird

    Founder and Director at Birmont Group

    Angela van Eekelen

    Former Global Policy and Governance Manager – Group Procurement ANZ

    Kylie Calendar

    Chief Procurement Officer Dept Premier and Cabinet (Vic Govt)

    Paul Rogers FCIPS

    Consulting Director at PaulRogers.Pro

    The personal credentials of the judges are widely and publicly available through LinkedIN.

    Please consider entering the PASA Awards for 2022 – these awards are an excellent way to;

    • recognise excellence in our profession,
    • encourage good leadership qualities from your team,
    • showcase great stories about procurement, from which others can learn,
    • contribute to a great event in memory of someone who made a difference to procurement throughout Australia & New Zealand